Per Petterson shortlisted for the Independent foreign fiction prize

by admin

Per Petterson, who is a former winner of the Independent prize, makes the line-up for his novel I Curse the River of Time (see review). The book is set in 1989. We meet Arvid Jansen seeks to make sense of his life while he struggles with a divorce and his mother’s cancer diagnosis.

Here is the full list:

Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated by Susan Bernofsky from the German

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras, translated by Frank Wynne from the Spanish

The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk, translated by Maureen Freely from the Turkish

I Curse the River of Time by Per Petterson, translated by Charlotte Barslund with Per Petterson from the Norwegian

Red April by Santiago Roncagliolo, translated by Edith Grossman from the Spanish

The Sickness by Alberto Barrera Tyszka, translated by Margaret Jull Costa from the Spanish

Previous post: